Mass Moving – Insubordinates in Art

52’Mass Moving - Presentation
Version française – Nederlandse Versie – Subtitled English Version

The story of an artistic movement which arose in Belgium and Holland on the heels of May ‘68. Made up of artists and engineers, the group defines itself by projects and short-lived actions.

The goal of Mass Moving? Take Art out of the museums and galleries by invading the city and streets – promote the importance of the earth and the concept of planetary chain – employ an entertaining and educational dimension and audience participation – denounce the bourgeois order and established conventions.

The group defines itself by its actions carried out throughout the world: “Butterfly Project” at the Venice Biennial, “Human Incubation” in Amsterdam, “Shadow Project” in Hiroshima, “Pure Water Reserves” in the Himalayas, “Sound Stream” from Cameroon to Norway, “Society in Conflict” in Brussels, “Ludic Environment Machine”, “Concreted Car”… One project after another carried out, among others, by Raphaël Opstaele and Bernard Delville, the group being, however, in principle anonymous.

When Mass-Movers realised that the functioning of the group no longer corresponded to their initial ideal, they folded up in 1976 with a spectacular auto-da-fé, destroying machines and burning drawings, photos, films and posters.

Through Mass Moving and its actions, it’s not only the story of an era which is told, but also the beginnings of the ecological movement and alternative energies.

Order the DVD

The film is illustrated by stock footage of the time.

Directed by: Françoise Levie
Running-time: 52′
With the support of the Cinema and Audiovisual Centre of the French-speaking Community of Belgium. With funding from the Vlaams Audiovisueel Fonds.

© 2007 Memento Production, A Private View, R.T.B.F.

Selection at the Montreal International Festival of Films on Art 2007

Mass Moving, des Insoumis dans l’Art

52’Mass Moving - Presentation
Version française – Nederlandse Versie – English Version

L’histoire d’un mouvement artistique né en Belgique et en Hollande dans la foulée de mai 68. Composé d’artistes et d’ingénieurs, le groupe se définit par des projets et des actions éphémères.

Le but de Mass Moving ? Sortir l’Art des musées et des galeries en investissant la ville et la rue, promouvoir l’importance de la terre et le concept de chaîne planétaire, faire appel à une dimension ludique et à la participation des spectateurs, dénoncer l’ordre bourgeois et les conventions établies.

Le groupe se définit par des Actions réalisées à travers le monde. Butterfly Project lors de la Biennale de Venise, Human Incubation à Amsterdam, Shadow Project à Hiroshima, Réserves d’eau pure dans l’Himalaya, Sound Stream du Cameroun à la Norvège, Society in Conflict à Bruxelles, Ludic Environment Machine, Voiture bétonnée, les projets se succèdent menés entre autres par Raphaël Opstaele et Bernard Delville, le groupe étant en principe anonyme.

Quand les Mass-Movers réalisent que le fonctionnement du groupe ne correspond plus à leur idéal de départ, ils se sabordent en 1976 par un autodafé spectaculaire, détruisant les machines, brûlant les dessins, les photos, les films et les affiches.

A travers Mass Moving et ses actions, c’est non seulement l’histoire d’une époque qui est racontée, mais aussi les débuts des mouvements écologistes et des énergies alternatives.

Commander le DVD

Le film est illustré par de nombreuses archives d’époque.

Réalisation : Françoise Levie
Durée : 52’
Avec l’aide du Centre du Cinéma et de l’Audiovisuel de la Communauté française de Belgique et des télédistributeurs wallons. Avec l’aide du Vlaams Audiovisueel Fonds

© 2007 Memento Production, A Private View, R.T.B.F.

Sélection au Festival International du Film d’Art de Montréal 2007