Etienne-Gaspard Robertson, Life of a Phantasmagorist

livre-robertson-fantasmagore
Etienne-Gaspard Robertson (1763-1837) was the first filmmaker. A filmmaker who knew, however, neither film, nor cinema, since he was born a century too early! Nevertheless, in 1798, he succeeded in making images move: forwards, backwards and even multiplying. Thanks to a revolutionary apparatus, the “Fantascope”, mounted on rails and placed behind the screen, Robertson created truly striking effects.

In the days following the Terror, Robertson offered audiences resurrection à la carte. The portraits of the beloved deceased appeared in the curls of smoke which gave them a semblance of expression. To these intimate portraits, he added celebrities who perished under the guillotine. One day, rumour had it that the physicist could make King Louis XVI himself reappear and resuscitate him…
What a danger for the young republic!…
Robertson was not only a man of images. Quite like the photographer Nadar, he was also fascinated by “aerostation” [hot-air ballooning]. He made some fifty balloon ascents throughout Europe which enthused his contemporaries. For his first ascent, he even pulverised the altitude record by reaching 7,300 metres.

A book by Françoise Levie
Collection Contrechamp – Le Préambule (Montreal)
1990
Distribution: Memento Production

Etienne-Gaspard Robertson, la vie d’un fantasmagore

livre-robertson-fantasmagoreEtienne-Gaspard Robertson (1763 – 1837) est le premier cinéaste. Un cinéaste qui ne connaît ni la pellicule, ni le cinéma, puisque il est né un siècle trop tôt ! Pourtant en 1798, il fait bouger les images. Elles avancent, reculent, grandissent, se multiplient. Grâce à un appareil révolutionnaire, le Fantascope, monté sur des rails et placé à l’arrière de l’écran, Robertson obtient des effets saisissants.

Aux lendemains de la Terreur, Robertson offre à son public une résurrection à la carte. Les portraits des chers disparus apparaissent dans des volutes de fumée qui leur donnent un semblant d’expression. A ces portraits intimes, il joint des célébrités mortes sous la guillotine. Un jour, le bruit court que le physicien peut faire apparaître le roi Louis XVI, le ressusciter…
Quel danger pour la jeune république…
Robertson ne fut pas seulement un homme de l’image. Tout comme le photographe Nadar, il était aussi passionné d’aérostation. Il réalisa une cinquantaine d’ascensions de ballon à travers l’Europe qui enthousiasmèrent ses contemporains. Pour sa première ascension, il pulvérisa même le record d’altitude en atteignant 7.300 mètres.

Un livre de Françoise Levie
Collection Contrechamp – Le Préambule (Montréal)
1990
Distribution : Memento Production